Standing out in the field

I had a second round interview today and a manager actually thanked me for doing something that seems like a no-brainer, but that others rarely do. Before my first interview, I took the job description’s key points, and I summarized my experience and skills that would help me achieve that portion of the job. I typed it as neatly as my resume and I submitted it after my interview so that the focus was on our conversation throughout the interview.

This was purposeful. I knew the second round would be a panel and they would likely be forwarded everything I submitted. First, it gave me a chance to explain the main reasons I felt qualified for the position even if their note taking was sparse. Second, it allowed me to go deeper in round two instead of just repeating myself. This gave the new members of the panel a chance to read the legible notes I typed up on why I felt qualified for this position. It also gave them insight to the round of the interview they had missed and I didn’t have to rely on the notes taken by my interviewers being shared. When I was thanked by a potential new manager of my position, it was clear this set my interview apart.

Today the other stakeholders came to my interview feeling as if they already knew the answers to most of the job related questions. This let them ask more questions based on my management style and collaborating personality. Since the second round is really the group you will work with the most, it is great to let them get to know you in a more relaxed fashion if you can. I can honestly say I enjoyed meeting the panel today and I enjoyed the more personal nature of their questions since I had already filled them in on round one. So, if you have a big interview coming up, you may want to try this technique.

6 responses to “Standing out in the field

  1. Brilliant!

    The employer wants to know how you will do the job. That’s it and you nailed it with your typed description.

    You were different and memorable.

    p.s. What about your hairdo?

  2. Woohar!!!! ;-p

  3. I would not worry too much about the lack of note taking. I try not to take a lot of notes in an interview because I think it distracts a lot of people. I jot keywords down and then try to fill in the details after the interview. I am am sure that they were impressed with your technique, I know that I would have been.

  4. Sterling Ashby

    I concur with your approach….I recently did something similar. I had an informational call with current person that fills the role, but then took their job description key subheadings and put my 4 or 5 bulleted experiences under each and submitted along with my resume. I titled document “Selected Summary of Experiences”. A day later, I received a very enthusiastic email from HR asking me to formally meet with the COO and other senior staffers.

Leave a Reply

