Pinterest, what’s all the fuss?

While Pinterest doesn’t need any press from me I thought I’d spell out a couple good uses I’ve found on the new social site. It is a great way to share ideas and create your own pin boards of things you like. If you are a visual person like I am then you know seeing it is a great for reminders and ideas. I like to share design ideas or get inspired before working on a new design and Pinterest has a bookmarklet that allows you to pin photos and images that you see on any site with the push of a button. So if there’s a  font you love or a technique you want to remember but don’t have the time to jot it down, just push Pin It and the image will be save in a visual thumbnail with a link to the original source.

As a creative this is priceless, pictures spin through my brain at a rapid pace and I love saving things for inspiration, now I can do it without saving every magazine I’ve ever read or tearing out the pages and taping them to the wall. Simply put Pinterest is like getting to browse thousands of magazines and dog ear the page and share it with your friends with the push of a button. No more looking for the specific edition of the magazine that had that great recipe in it, it’s right there on your foodie pin board!

Leave a Reply

