From J-school to the private sector in 30 days

While commercial work is considerably different from journalism, there are fair amounts of similarities in the art departments. Quality production is a mutual goal as well as the need for technological savvy.  The tools used are the same but most photojournalists PhotoShop skills are limited by an ethical  wall that keeps them at a rudimentary level. My challenge to photojournalists and newspaper photo editors is to venture over the wall to boost your skills. I’m not saying throw ethics out the window!

I am saying make yourself marketable to other industries. The needs of the private sector dictates another set of goals for the images you produce. No longer are you solely charged with producing accurate creative representations of news events. This new landscape depends on your ability to create moods and feelings to promote an idea. That is not always possible with just your camera. It means venturing onto the manipulation side of the PhotoShop tool palette. The world beyond burning, dodging, cropping and toning is rich. Everything I teach my visual communications students, I taught myself through useful and creative tutorials.

Over the next 30 days I will share my favorite over the line tutorials. I will use the tag J-P30 so you can catch up on the tutorials when you have time by visiting the tag cloud and clicking on it.

So here’s today’s the face shattering effect. This is from 10steps.sg a great tutorial site to add to your bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

